top of page

Nature Nuts

Working with SWBG

I recently resigned with a heavy heart as a trustee for SWBG. The reason for this is I felt that couldn't give the full 100% that I felt that I had done in the past. My tenure as a trustee lasted three years and I must admit they were brilliant times. Working with SWBG inspired me to take my beaver tours (over 180 tours and over 500 people), visit over a dozen schools (delivered presentations to over 1300 kids), assisted in holding stalls at the Blair games and "Big Weekend" among a various amount of other activities. The group itself are a wonderful bunch, very dedicated to the cause and most I count as good friends.

During my time with SWBG, I had the opportunity of assisting TBSG (Tayside Beaver Study Group) in lodge production studies. This consisted of sitting by the river over a few nights a week logging the comings-and-goings of the beaver family and counting any new offspring. Not a great hardship to be honest as I was down there most nights anyway. TBSG also underwent the testing of beavers. This consisted of trapping them, testing them for disease and confirming they were of Eurasian descent, releasing them back into the river. I was present when one of our kits, "Pip" was released back into the river. A truly magical moment to be so close to a wee cutey

Pip was 4 months old, male, 10kg, Eurasian and very healthy.

I have been really lucky in my work with SWBG. As I alluded to earlier, they are a great bunch and I have made some real firm friendships with a good few of them. I have also met some really incredible people from all walks of life via my tours and presentations.

I would just like to thank you all, it was great :-)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page