top of page

Nature Nuts

Kits galore

What a week! My first guests were a couple that I had met when I was on the West coast, specifically Glenelg. Richard and Elaine are a lovely couple from Lancashire that took great interest in my tours. We had actually watched a Pine Marten from our respective campers after I had set down some bait, raisins, nuts and eggs. We were rewarded for our efforts by a visit by a Marten which was totally brilliant. Anyway, Richard asked if I could take them on a beaver tour and I was more than happy to oblige. We had great sightings the whole night through and even a brief glimpse of a kit.

On Saturday, Mrs Nuts, the pup and I had a walk around one of my favourite lochs. We were out for over 3 hours and covered over 8 miles. We had sightings of multiple species which included a couple of Roe deer, a couple of female Red Breasted Merganser, Wheatear, Pippits, female Hen Harrier, Whinchat and a Stonechat.

In the evening I hosted a really lovely couple from the Peterhead area, Lee and Eilidh Watson. I had met Eilidh last year on a beaver tour and this time she wanted to see a Pine Marten. We arrived at the hide and were treated to a brilliant and comical display by a pair of Red Squirrels.

Initially one appeared and had some really great poses for us. Then another came along and chased the first one away. It was actually hilarious watching the “bully” chase off the wee one, go and bury his cache only for the wee one to come around the back of the logs and nick another nut or two. This continued for about an hour.

Everything then went very quiet and “Squinty” appeared. Such a stunning animal, my wee group were ecstatic. Better was to come though, with the arrival of not one but two kits. To say we were blown away doesn’t cover it. We were treated to about 30 minutes or so of these gorgeous wee assassins hovering up all the bait.

It was truly amazing and a memory that I personally will never forget and I believe Eilidh and Lee will be of a similar mind. So after a few fist pumps, big grins and exclamations of delight we headed from the glen to the river.

We had no sooner arrived and we were treated to my wee beaver family doing what they do. As the light failed we caught a glimpse of at least one kit.

As weekends go, it was nothing short of perfect. I can’t thank the company that shared the quality sightings enough. As for the animals and birds, I hope to see more of them very shortly


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page