top of page

Nature Nuts

Martens by the Moonlight

I popped up to the hide to replenish the bird feeders last night. As I was a bit later than I had intended I decided to hang about for 30mins or so. I completed filling the feeders then set up the lights to hopefully get an early visit by a marten. Imagine my joy when after about 10mins of me sitting down one of the light sensors lit up. I held my breath and to my delight a wee head appeared behind the logs. It disappeared but I managed to pick out its lithe shape darting amongst the shadows obviously searching for its supper. Within seconds it then reappeared beside the reflection pool, snaffled the egg then disappeared.

Knowing these animals behaviour quite well, I was confident of a return from the animal. Sure enough, less than 10mins had passed and it popped back into the hide area again. It zipped about to all the usual hiding spots and once the search had been exhausted the animal settled down to dine on the nuts left out for the squirrels. Suddenly the sensor light lit up again and sure enough another animal appeared and after a quick sniff about joined the other animal. Occasionally one or both animals would leave the nuts and search around for more eggs but they always returned to the nuts. I spent the next 45 minutes watching the pair off them; it was quite hypnotic and really enjoyable.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page