top of page

Nature Nuts

Beavering 21st-23rd March

I'd been down to the river every night since Monday 21st with little or no success. In fact the only company I had was a pheasant, a few long tailed tits, a wren and a bat. The bat was great to see to be honest, even though it was out well before dusk. So this evening I went to the river with a bit of trepidation as I hadn't seen my wee family since Sunday. March month can be a bit hit-or-miss for beavering. The animals tend to get later coming out, almost hanging on to the dusk. Then all of a sudden, the animals revert back to leaving the burrows anytime between 1830 and 2000.

As I exited the car and jumped the fence, I spotted a pair of hares running off into the distance, great start, scaring the wildlife!!! A buzzard was calling from across the river and a few yellowhammers were bobbing about between the field and the hedgerow. As I got to the river I spotted a goosander swimming downstream and a heron flying in the opposite direction. So far, I'd seen more in the last 5 minutes that what I'd seen all week. I hunkered down into my usual spot and sat for a while with no success. So, I thought I'd mix it up a bit and g and hide at another spot. I am still not 100% sure if the old maternal lodge is being used regularly, however I know for definite that my new position is opposite a burrow that is active. And so it proved to be the case. No sooner had I got myself settled, I spotted ripples from the burrow (1843) and then this one appeared....

.....then this one

Both animals seemed to be on high alert and no wonder, as I was away to take another picture an otter popped up right beside me. I don't know who got the bigger shock but he submerged and took off up the river. As I hoped for another sighting, one of the beavers gave chase and passed right passed me.

I looked up the river and there were a further 2 beavers milling about the maternal lodge, one, the larger of the 2, shot off up the river, presumably giving the otter a hard time whilst the other came down the river towards me

A fantastic 15 minutes viewing, hopefully the coming year provides more of the same and better


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page