top of page

Nature Nuts

An Easter hop about the countryside

I was meant to be visiting the Angus Glens today but due to the forecast I changed my mind and just had a wee run around some of my favourite local spots in Angus. I had great fun trying to see multiple beasties and birdies; as it turned out there was a lot to see and I had a ball, nothing "really" exciting as such but brilliant all the same.

As I was travelling there were a pair of hares in a field

At my fist location I managed to disturb a Greater Spotted Woodpecker however I did get this lovely wee Long Tailed Tit

A "few" Greylag geese

Blue and Great tits

A wee Red squirrel that kept hiding, a good few cormorants and a Goldeneye

The woodpecker and squirrel came back a few times but as soon as a camera was aimed at either, they were off. There were a pair of Jays knocking about as well but typically very shy.

Off to the next location and I was greeted with a few calls from a couple of Green Woodpeckers. Quality was my reaction, and hopefully I'd see one. I did see this elusive woodpecker, a Greater Spotted

There were a good few of the usual suspects, Coal Tits......

A pair of gorgeous Dunnocks

Siskin and Yellowhammers

More calls from the Green Woodpecker getting ever closer, and this gorgeous wee Red Squirrel. He was tiny

He made a good few appearances which was pleasing to see. Just about the same time, a Green Woodpecker called and there it was in a tree not far from where I was snuggled down

Wee Red made another appearance

A couple of Jays were spotted yet again but same as last location, no pics. A buzzard was heard and seen above but at a fair height. On my way back to the car, I heard and spotted a wee Goldcrest, damnable things to get a photo of and so it proved yet again.

So onto next location and it was slim pickings with just a few Oystercatchers and this lovely Mute Swan (huge feet)

Next location threw up some other stuff, Greylag Goose

A pair of Pheasants

Oystercatchers

Lapwing, Snipe, Teal, Mallards and Wigeon were also spotted along with a pair of Shovelers

A heron

I spotted a few Blackbirds, chaffinches, Reed Bunting, various Swans (Mute), umpteen Tufties this wee treecreeper

I was lucky enough to spot one of the Marsh Harriers but it just popped up and disappeared as quick.

Onto next location to see the Great Crested Grebes but none were showing

On my way there I spotted a pair of Magpies (two for joy) so I checked my lottery numbers, and wouldn't you know it, I won £3.

My luck just didn't end there, as I sat at the river waiting for the for the beavers, a male Sparrowhawk flew up the river and the female was following him flying up the footpath and nailing any flushed birds. Brilliant to watch., rubbish to get a photo due to the light and speed of the birds. My beavers did make an appearance at 1930 but the light was absolutely rubbish. Two adults appearing from different burrows almost simultaneously. No pics due to light but a happy ending to a wonderful day. I'm a Happy Easter Bunny :-)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page