top of page

Nature Nuts

Beavering 5th April

I'd been at the river on Sunday with mixed results. My camera had gotten soaked in the morning and I'd had to get the condensation out of the lens as most if all of my pics were a bit dodgy, nothing new I hear you say. Anyway, I did get a sighting of an otter however due to wearing a wide brimmed hat and the camera on "auto" setting, when I pressed the shoot button, the flash hit my hat and no picture was forthcoming. Very similar situation with a large beaver a few moments later, grrrr!!!!!!!!!

Monday night was rubbish due to the river being high and the constant rain; I sure wasn't going to endanger the camera again. This evening however was a lovely night albeit chilly. The wind was coming from NNW which suited my evening perfectly, or so I thought!

I approached the river around 1800 and sat for a good hour without anything moving. However, I did have great company, 6 starlings, a few wrens, a pair of Mallards, Long Tailed Tits, quite a few blackbirds, umpteen Yellowhammers, buzzard and three goosanders. Here is one of the males

I went down the river for a bit and sat hoping to see the otter again but to no avail. In fact there was nothing moving about on the river itself but plenty of birds in the trees, I even had a fleeting glimpse of an Dipper and a Kingfisher, wish either or both had stopped for a quick pic but, no :-(

I went back up the river and thought about heading home but me being me and a wee text from a pal saying "PMA give it a few minutes more" I went back down the river. I have never been so glad to just hang on, what a brilliant last 20 minutes.

As I approached the same place I had been 20 minutes ago, I spotted ripples coming from the bank and saw this guy. The fact I was downwind from the animal was totally in my favour and I managed to take a few snaps of it. These aren't cropped btw, the beastie was VERY close.

It got even closer........................

.................My camera was really struggling with the last picture as the animal was really close to me. It decided to embark on the banking below my feet and I tried to focus and take a picture but I was too close. What was I to do? Risk moving or sit and just enjoy the moment? I decided to plump for the former. Unfortunately it had it's back to me but here is the photo

Things did get better as I managed to get a wee video, it's not great but I loved the experience and I am desperate to share it.

Hope you enjoy it.

Here's a wee pic of said beaver having a groom

Anyway, back to the fact I was downwind from that particular beaver. I didn't realise I was upwind from a further 2 beavers feeding behind me. As I stepped to the side to get away from those bits of grass at the front of the picture, all hell broke loose. Huge splashes from the beavers behind me as they caught my movement and scent and sent my beaver in to the river at the same time. Weird as hell, even though he obviously got the warning call from his family it came back to finish it's repast. It was a bit more alert but I did get a wee pic of it as it sailed past me down the river.

A lovely end to the day


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page