top of page

Nature Nuts

Of Blackcock and Beavers

No, this isn't some bad Packam innuendo, this was the real deal. I finished work today, picked up a car and headed up a wee Glen to see if I could see either the Hen Harriers or the Short Eared Owls. However, when I reached the moor this is what I came across at 1620 in the afternoon, 9 Black Grouse in a leck. Gorgeous birds, but by the wee man, they are a tad feisty. I spent an hour watching them and hearing their gurgling language as well as their hissing and spitting. Quite amazing. Watching them strutting their stuff up and down imaginary boundary lines was a joy to see, especially when one decided to go for the territory.

Here's a wee vide of some of the action

So, after that wee bit of good luck and total enjoyment, I headed to the river. Brilliant sightings as soon as I got there. Mum, then 3 of last years kits. I even had mum and one kit feeding at my feet but too close for camera.

Damn fine 4hrs :-D


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page