top of page

Nature Nuts

Have camper will travel

As my tours will hopefully be kicking off in earnest soon, I thought I'd go on a wee road trip. Some pals of mine, Bruce and Hazel, offered me a shot of their camper. Why not I asked myself? So first stop was the Black Grouse lek on Thursday night, sleeping over into the morning. Some of the sightings were as follows.

Firstly the Black Grouse, I'd set my alarm for 0430 but these guys had me awake at 0330!!!!

A few hares, wheatears, curlew and meadow pippits were also showing

​​

Stars of the moor were the Short Eared Owls

From the moor I went to Lintrathen to get the Great Crested Grebes

Stars of the show on the moor were the Short Eared Owls, awesome

On to Kinnordy and Balgavies seeing a wee dipper on the way

Back to Blair for a couple of appointments then Morton lochs where I got my best woodpecker and Kingfisher pics

Also this coot

From there to Dunkeld and picked of a nuthatch

From there I went to the Cairngorm where I spent the night.

In the morning I walked up to the foot of Cairn Lochan at the Coire Lochan bowl.

En route I met Camille, a lovely young French girl. We shared the next few hours walking up to the loch and back, she was very pleasant and welcome company, She also spotted the Ptarmigan well before me

A variety of mountain wildlife was spotted

Hares

Ring Ouzel

Red Grouse

Reindeer

From Cairngorm I headed north to the Black Isle hoping to see dolphins but it was a no-show. I did see a few Red Kites and buzzards as I was driving. I did see some terns, sandpipers and a few little ringed plovers

From there I headed west to Lochcarron and to my evening stop over, Applecross. The scenery on the way was stunning.

Looking west towards Beinn Eighe

Start of the big pointy things known as the Torridons

The road through to Applecross was excellent, the Bealach na Ba is quite a trail, rising 2053ft from sea level.

On arriving at Applecross I was met with these guys at the roadside

I decided to go for a birthday pint

I even met Johnny Vegas.

On awakening I had the honour of this view of the Cuillins

McLeods table also on Skye

I spotted this Great Northern Diver, one of 3 in the bay

And some Eiders

This is where my endeavours started to go awry! When I parked up, there was only me and my camper in the layby. I opened the curtains, had my breakfast and soaked In the views. A shower was next in line. I started the pump up to pressurise the lines, however it didn't stop and it was then I realised the water tank was empty. Not to be outdone I decided to have a "Glesca dicht", so I boiled the kettle using the water I had for spare drinking water. Imagine the scene, me bollock naked, washing hair, oxters and bits and pieces (in that order) and I hear this female voice "Good morning, isn't it just a beautiful view to die for" I thanked her profusely for her compliment and covered myself up.

So, we won't dwell on that, next overnight spot was Glenelg, quality glen, and the views?....they speak for themselves

Sorry, I just had to add the castle

Just love Glensheil, especially the view, especially of the "Five Sisters of Kintail"

Glenelg itself is truly beautiful,

No sign of otters or WTSE, but I did get a brief sighting of a cuckoo. Umpteen Meadow pippits, sedge and willow warblers

The obligatory gulls, hoodies and cormorants were never far away

Seals were also around

At night I had the pleasure of watching a Pine Marten from the comfort of the camper

On my return home I came back via glorious countryside

All in, I saw over 100 different beasties and flappy things species, travelled through beautiful areas and met some lovely people


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page