top of page

Nature Nuts

Good Vibes? Hell yeah

I've been very lucky this past few weeks in getting Pine Marten sightings at one of the hides. It was on the back of this that I did a couple of back-to -back tours. I was joined by Kathryn on both nights and Sheila on the second night. To say we had a laugh is an understatement, in fact even the Pine Marten joined in!

On the first evening we had great light and an early showing by one animal; then an hour later "Squinty" appeared. The poor wee soul has a cataract in his right eye with another one developing on the left.

We had a few sightings of various birds and beasties on the way home including a wee herd of Fallow deer

A lovely night all round in all honesty.

The second evening threw up an unexpected but fantastic sighting, this wee stoat......

..... I just love these guys as I do with all the mustelidae family. Unfortunately, stoats and weasels are susceptible to picking up a variety of parasites. As you can see on this cropped pic, wee stoaty has more than a few

In between the laughs and sightings of various wee birdies, predominately chaffinches and tits

Among the sheep we spotted this Roe doe louping a fence, unfortunately I had a decent bit of timber between myself and the deer.

We had to wait a good while before we eventually had a Marten visit, but it was well worth it as reliable "Squinty" made an appearance just after 10. This, I believe, was the first sighting of a Marten by Sheila. It's a shame the light by this stage was getting poor but just to witness these wonderful creatures is an honour.

Hopefully a lovely night had by all

I most certainly had a ball

With laughs aplenty and nature bounding

Great company in an awesome surrounding

Thanks again for a brilliant Nature Nuts tour ladies.

Here is a link to my various tours, click away but if you have a specific requirement, just contact me on this link


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page