top of page

Nature Nuts

Abhainn Eireachd

The above title is Scots Gaelic for the River Ericht and this evening she really lived up to her name. As I arrived, it was apparent the recent rains had raised the water level a good couple of feet since I was last down. This opens up feeding that the beavers wouldn't normally be able to reach

My first sighting was of a very cautious animal, mum I presume as this one isn't quite as ginger as dad. The kits have now been born and I'm sure I could hear mewing from the lodge.

The next viewing was a youngster (yearling) bringing some feeding to it's mum and siblings, I love how I was lucky enough to catch a wee fish rising beside the beaver.

Mum reappeared and had a good swim around checking things out.

I just find these animals as the real meaning of serenity. Totally majestic and silent in the water, very soothing to watch and witness.

As I was waiting for another sighting I became acutely aware of the evening song of so many birds, it was absolutely heart warming. I had the numerous melodies from the resident Song Thrush on the opposite bank, the "clucking" of a broody Blackbird as well as it totally kicking off when a Mallard and her brood appeared. Thankfully her brood seemed intact despite the attention of a heron!

The Sedge and Willow Warblers added their song to the evening, the Sedge is almost scolding in it's call, a "tuk" and a "chirr", whereas the Willow is so melodic that starts and ends softly with a wee flourish, generally a wee "hoo-ee" are the recognisable notes. The riverbank is full of warblers just now, some more plentiful than others. There are the odd Blackcaps that show face plus a very plentiful supply of Chiffchaffs and Whitethroats. Throw in an odd Robin and Wren and the "chree" of a Kingfisher zipping up and down the river and you will appreciate how beautiful this river really is and what it has to offer and what it means to me. As I was sitting waiting, I heard the unmistakable "croak" of a goosander, sure enough she was below my feet with 3 chicks on her back and a couple at her side.

Next sighting was of a very full on and "on a mission" beaver.

Then it jouked under the trees

And headed up river at a decent pace

I tracked it for a bit but lost it heading into the knotweed.

A cracking evening as always by the beautiful river


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page