top of page

Nature Nuts

Thank you

Hand on heart, I’ve missed putting up a wee blog in the last few weeks but spare time has not been easy to come by. The Pine Marten tours this year have really taken off and it has been a double-edged sword in all honesty. Last year I started to propagate an area that I knew Martens were present. If anyone that has followed my blogs will know, there was a large amount of activity via the trail cam, not only of the Martens, but of Jays, Buzzards, Roe and a multitude of various wee birdies. I spent a silly amount of time and money (essential to building up a hide and luring animals regularly to a feeding station) developing the site. All was going extremely well but the animals; Martens in particular, were not consistent enough for me to take groups to my hide. However, I did have a plan B and I had an ok from a lady I know to temporarily use her hide. These beasties had been fed and baited for a good few years and were very consistent. In fact, I had taken a good few friends to that particular hide over a couple of years and generally with very positive results, so it was with the knowledge that my guests were most likely going to see these beautiful creatures as opposed to at my own hide I took my tours there. Now, as time waits for no man and is in very short supply to us mortals, I couldn't spend time looking after my own hide due to demand at the other hide. During my time taking guests to the temporary hide, my own site was vandalised to an extent it was unusable, this almost broke my heart. I had spent months travelling on winter evenings to bait it, build it, sometimes knee deep in snow but determined to keep the animals fed. I must admit though, I thoroughly enjoyed it, being up the glen after a fresh snowfall, stars all around and the air as crisp and keen as sooking the death out of a tube of Colgate, awesome. Anyway, we shall move on after finishing on a positive.

My tours this year have been a wee bit off the norm in all honesty. I can’t blame people wanting to see the Martens but my wee family of beavers have had to take a back seat which I find a wee bit disconcerting compared to last year. 2015 and the two years previous I had almost 600 people to the river to see these wonderful creatures, this year alone I think I have had about 40. In my mind it isn’t always about seeing the animal in particular, it is also about witnessing what that animal does for the ecology of that specific site/area. Beavers offer and create so much biodiversity in their chosen homeland it is well worth visiting just for that alone whether you see the animal or not.

So, a wee resume of this late spring and the summer tours is probably due. I have had so many wonderful guests to various sites it really makes my heart sing. To have like minded people sharing my passion of wildlife and being in the company of said people is a real treasure to the soul. I can’t thank you enough, all of you, it has been a pleasure.

Adders

This is an awesome experience that quite a few have taken up. My guests and I had a wee run up a local Glen and on the run up the amount of wildlife we witnessed blew my mind away, over 30 species of birds, beasties, reptiles, insects and reptiles. Trust me, this tour is well worth it, the scenery and wildlife are bang on the button, forever changing, but always brilliant.

Beavers

I haven’t had as many tours that I thought I would have had this year and the sightings have been nothing like as good as previous years. However, the people that have visited had, in the main, decent results. Joe and his family, Colin and Louise, Moira, Russell and his film crew, Rhona, Richard and Elaine, Lesley and family, Kirsten and friends and a few others have had a great night by the river. This is a tour that can throw up a good few sightings of Otters, Kingfishers, Heron, Buzzards, Bats, Roe Deer, Brown Hare, Oystercatchers, Bank and Water Vole, Rats, Fox and as many wee birdies that you want including Warblers (Sedge, Grasshopper and Willow) Blackcaps, Whitethroats, Yellowhammers, Robins, Wrens, Cormorants, Goosanders, Woodpeckers, Red Squirrels, Mallards, Treecreepers, Wrens, Robins, Starlings, etc. Nature Nuts have also spotted weasels, stoats and a Hen Harrier by the river, awesome.

Black Grouse Lek

Stuff this early morning scenario getting up just after midnight, travelling to silly destinations, sitting in a make-shift tent thing and getting dodgy results. Nature Nuts were watching the birds in the afternoon in beautiful light knocking seven bells out of each other, with blood and feathers flying everywhere. The Black Cock Lek is awesome and we also saw Short Eared Owls, Brown and Mountain hares, Wheatears, Lapwings, Snipe, Curlew, Roe and Red deer, Wild Boar, Hen Harriers and a Merlin amongst very many more. Thanks to Adam, Sheila, Kathryn, Rhona and a multitude of others that enjoyed this tour, much appreciated.

Munro Magic

I’ve had a couple all day tours on the hills and I loved both. If there is someplace I feel at home, it is on a hill. My first gig was with Gloria and Stephen. We had a walk up Glen Callater initially to hopefully see Golden Plover, Dottral, Adders and anything else we could see. We did see the Plover albeit at a distance, stunning bird. As Gloria and Stephen were from Brentford, I thought I would wear my kilt, bad move, thighs covered in tics. We met a couple of Americans at the loch that had been walking Jock’s Road, “Hi guys, seen anything worthwhile on your walk” I asked. The reply was something else……”Yeah, we’ve seen heaps of Woodcock and a pair of Puffin”. We did as a group question their sightings but they were adamant. The only birds we could think of were Snipe and Oystercatcher, correct me if I am wrong. Next step was Carn Aosda (hill of ages) one of the easiest Munro’s that you could climb. However, taking someone in their 60’s up a hill, raises a few “risk assessment” issues. The relevant questions were asked and I tip my hat to both, Stephen romped up the hill, Gloria and I took our time and still got there. The views could have been better but seeing the look on my guest’s faces was an image that will live with me forever. Seeing Gloria having a sup out of a hipper of Talisker was something to behold, Steve loved it. My next guest was Rhona, we popped up Sunnyside to get hares, grouse and Ptarmigans. The latter 2 were not forthcoming but we did get some hares.

My latest tour involved Bob Little, quality dude. Due to an illness Bob is not too light on his feet and my challenge was to get him to see Mountain Hares and Ptarmigans. Not easy but I do what I can. I arranged for a wee 4x4 to take us up a hill, ( I can’t thank Glenshee Chairlift enough, particularly Kate and Graham) in fact it was Carn Aosda (Karn Ooosh) one of the lower Munro’s in the Glenshee area of the Cairngorms. The look on Bob’s face as we reached the peak was awesome, granted he hadn’t done the hard work as such but I’ll tell you this, for all he has been through and what may come, this was a pleasure to me and a moment that brings a lump to the throat. We got the Ptarmigans, Hares and Bobs cherry burst re a Munro. A visit to the beavers followed (another 4x4) and kingfishers, goosanders and ultimately beavers, great day had by all. Again many thanks to those that made it happen for Bob, namely Kate, Graham, Adam, Rhona, Mark, Julie, Pete and Alan. Regardless of age or ability, Nature Nuts will endeavour to get you up a Munro

Pine Marten tours

Wow, wow, wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! An astonishing creature but I must admit, my guests were just as awesome. I met old friends, new friends and I was totally blown away by the whole thing. Having seen the look on people’s faces when they first saw a beaver was and is totally brilliant but the look changes when seeing the cutest assassin in Scotland, the Pine Marten. This is an animal that is so shy, timid and rarely seen but is so beautiful and to have the chance to see one in the wild and in daylight, is not to be missed. Everyone I took to the hide was brilliant and not only did I forge new friendships I reinforced older ones. So my many thanks must and foremost go to Annie and her team, thank you so much for use of the hide. Thereafter, and I apologise for all emissions, but I have had a silly amount of guests to these animals and they are all very special to me. There are a few that stand out however, and again really float my boat. I can’t pick a favourite but right up there must be Bob Little, love him to bits. Another contender is James Brown, this wonderful man unfortunately has a really shitty condition but to introduce him and his grandchildren Jack and Cory to the Martens was a very heartfelt moment. His photos, generally taken from a car, are superb so hats off to you my man x Seeing me, Eilidh and Lee witnessing 3 Martens must have been worth being a fly on the wall. Bev (sort out the lens Bev!!!!! Get a Nikon) and Mark, brilliant laugh and giggles) all night as it was with Sheila, Rhona and Kathryn, I’m still smiling yet at the thought, good vibes. Kenny, Adam and Scott = smoking hot lol, Catriona and Franz, just the berries xxx. Kate, Ed and Jayne (stop swearing at the wifey), Lesley and neice, Calum and pops, Russell and team, 4 Martens, you lucky buggers!!!!, Donna and friends, Norman, Ross and Dod (the windy boys,) Raymond, Colin, Moira and Suz and all that have accompanied me, it has been a laugh. I know I have missed a lot of names, apologies for that but I still can’t thank you all enough for your custom and support, it has been a godsend, laugh and privilege.

In General

What can I say other than thanks to all my customers and I hope you have enjoyed your time on your Nature Nuts tour

Outlook

Woodland hide/s. Looking positive for all sorts, not saying too much as yet but updates on a weekly basis as to what is visiting but so far we have had a tawny, fox, roe and jays plus a possible Marten.

After looking at expenses (boo) I may have to raise prices slightly just to cover costs. If I can, I won’t, as continued custom/support is more important to me than profit. In my mind, seeing Nature in all its glory shouldn’t be a treat experienced only by the wealthy, it’s something that should be shared and available to all, however my accountant thinks otherwise.

Thanks again


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page