top of page

Nature Nuts

A braw weekend

A lovely weekend was had in the Nature Nuts camp. On the Friday night I had the pleasure of taking Jackie, Colin and Ashley from Falkirk, to see the beavers. Even though the “nights are fair drawing in” we did get a few sightings of a couple of beavers. First was a wee kit quite near us then an adult on the far bank. We were also treated to various splashing and chewing by the beavers; unfortunately it was only an audible experience as they were hidden below some trees. Jackie and her family have promised to visit next year as they enjoyed their wee tour so much and I hope they do as they were wonderful company.

The Saturday was an early start (0445) for me as I picked my guests up in Stirling at 0600. This was Sandra (Sandy) and her mother-in-law Rita from Colorado. Now, Sandy had sent me a wee list of birds that she would like to see and in all honesty most were achievable apart for the Capercaillie. It is strange how we take what we have for granted until someone points out the obvious, and for that I can only thank Sandy and Rita for reminding me how lovely our common birds are. We spotted a variety of birds on our tour, most were the “usual suspects” but we had a few surprises thrown in, such as a Water Rail and chick. As well as all the birds and beasties we saw, the scenery was beautiful and I think my couple enjoyed their wee safari. I will say this, both Sandy and Rita were lovely and I had a wee soft spot for Rita, an extremely fit and foxy 80yr old no less. In fact, Rita kept calling me “honey” and “dearheart”, I must admit I was really chuffed, but it was probably me in my kilt that did it, killer legs lol.. Both had me laughing at various points through the day, tremendous. We visited various places through the day, Morton lochs, Tayport, Caird Park, Balgavies, Montreathmont, Fowlsheugh, Dunnottar Castle and returned to Stirling via Royal Deeside and Glenshee. A fantastic day with two lovely ladies.

Sunday was spent on the moor with Mrs Nuts looking for Hen Harriers. The female was spotted along with a few Pippits, Roe and a puckle hares. Note to self (again) take the bloody spare camera battery!!!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page