top of page

Nature Nuts

Nature v Camera v Trust

I have spent a lot of my time trying to get Nature Nuts going as a business but the business itself is reaching a non-profit making margin. However, my real passion is sharing my love of nature with all in a way that brings nature closer to YOU and not making money. I have and always will, love taking people out to see and enjoy not only the various flora and fauna, but the history of my wee patch of heaven. So, all I ask is have a wee keek at the following and take a thought .

Nature? What does it mean to you? In this age of social media, is it trying to outdo others on facebook etc with the quality and how close you can get to the relative subject? Or sitting, waiting and hoping the beastie appears and if not try again another day? Is it watching and waiting and relishing the creature or is it banging off machine gun style, multiple shots on the camera before enjoying the animal? I’ve delivered various wildlife tours over the last 5 years and I have now managed (I think) to differentiate between wildlife lovers and camera lovers. I can assure you there is an abyss of a difference. It is a difference I’m starting to feel abhorrent too. I’ll give you a few examples and if you recognise yourself, think about it.

  1. I was at Kinnordy one afternoon and visited the 3 hides. I had some good shots and was carrying a 150-500mm lens. At the feeding station for the birds I met a guy that was carrying serious camera gear. In fact he boasted that he had two lenses worth over£15k. I must admit I was a bit jealous but what followed sickened me. A wee treecreeper appeared and I got a few decent pics then the guy, with humungous lens in hand kept getting closer and closer to the bird almost to the point he could have touched it. I said to him “wtf are you doing?” “I just want to see how close I can get” he says! Shame on me, I know, but I just walked away in disgust without saying a word.

  2. I was at a Black Grouse lek one evening in my pals camper. Now the lek is right at the road side and fantastic pics can be had without disturbing the birds. If any of you know, once the lek is disturbed ALL the birds are gone for the morning/evening. So, I’m sat there quite the thing hoping for an evening display and I was granted a brief lek by 3 cock birds. Then this vehicle appeared and a guy got out, chapped on the door and introduced himself. I invited him in and we had the craic. He told me he was going to go into the middle of the lek all camo’d up and get what pics he could first thing in the morning. I told him the rules/law etc and offered him the choice of joining me in the camper to get his pics. He declined and I reminded him yet again, if you are in the lek, stay still, don’t move until all the birds have departed. I had set my alarm for 0500 but was awakened at 0330 by the burbling and hissing off the grouse right outside the “van”. I got up, opened the window, put on the kettle and started frying my bacon. It was then that I looked at the horizon and there to my utter disbelief was a mobile “tree”!!!! No, surely no!!! The “tree” stopped moving thankfully and the lek continued. I got my breakfast and I settled down with my camera as the light was improving by the minute. The birds were right outside the “van” and the “tree” was a good 50yds from me but now moving again!!!! And as you will have now guessed, every bloody bird was now on the wing. I can’t relate my anger at how anybody would ignore advice re wildlife and potentially screw up future viewings for others. It was also a wildlife crime that I should have reported. In retrospect I’m ashamed I didn’t.

  3. Beaver outings have also been an issue. I’m always aware of what side of the river the animals are generally feeding and at what time of year. Now this isn’t a dig but it was just a bit of innocent ignorance on behalf of some kids that wanted to see the beavers. Unfortunately they had chosen to sit beneath a treecreepers nest, several warblers nests, within 30ft of a kingfishers nest and on the exact spot where the beavers had been feeding nightly. The issue for me was, know the animal, know the surroundings and know what else may be about. The birds nests thankfully went on to produce young. The warblers were a bit less violent than the treecreeper in pointing out their discomfort, though not as harsh as me letting rip!

  4. Martens! I’ve said enough on this re trust but losing two hides that offered viewings of this incredible creature due to greed by individuals that I trusted sickened me to the core. I’m currently baiting up my 7th location and if successful, due to earlier indiscretions, will unfortunately mean an increase in prices and a no-go for those that that can't be trusted.

These are just a very small collection of some of my less than enjoyable memories re wildlife but they are getting more common. Since digital cameras have become affordable there are so many people that hook up to fb wildlife pages looking for the perfect pic without regard for the subject and believe they are the next Gordon Buchanan. I’m not discouraging the desire, but please. please respect the subject. Stop and wait, nature WILL come to you and it will be a far better experience for all parties plus you might find you aren’t breaking the law


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page