top of page

Nature Nuts

50 shades of Fallow

A short notice tour today with a couple of good friends, Franz and Catriona. Catriona wanted to see fallow deer and I was happy to oblige. At the start of the tour we had a wee visit to Bamff. A pair of Buzzards were spotted feeding on worms in a field just before Bamff estate. I honestly can not get my head around the fact that a few English regions have permitted the shooting of these raptors, the thin of the wedge in my opinion and where will that persecution end? Anyway, we had a wander around the estate and we really loved the whole experience, the whole ecological change in the environment is mind blowing. As much as I love wildlife and my tours, the beaver tour is the best in my opinion. Seeing how one animal can change the environment to suit itself beggars belief. So, if you want to go on one of my tours, this is THE one I highly recommend.

So, onwards to the Fallow deer. We initially went to see some white Fallow. These in fact are not albino, they are actually leucistic which is a genuine colour variation in the fallow. As you will see in the following pic, there is a myriad of colour variations though the 4 variations are from light to dark are: white, common, menil and melanistic.

The following are a common and a leucistic Buck

and the most adorable fawns

We went of to the next location to see a herd of melanistic bucks. I see this herd every time I go up the glen and I have tried numerous times to get a decent pic. Hopefully this time I have done them justice. The three of us did a good job of stalking and here's the results....

and of they went!

And a couple of skeebie pics to finish the day


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page